Another Morning Question…

 I sit in my normal spot in the corner of the coffee shop. My head rests against the window frame, and my eyes wander wistfully over the trees outside, bathed in the fresh light of another sunrise. I’ve written several posts at this table, including the one that I posted on a morning seemingly identical to this one. I was sitting at the same table, watching the same trees, seeing the same people talking, reading their Bibles, sipping coffee, and generally enjoying themselves. It would take a trained eye to notice the differences.

The mood of the room is a little darker, a little heavier, a little sadder than most mornings. The sense of excitement and something new that hung in the air that morning has been replaced with finality and a sense of accomplishment. A few of the regulars are missing already, and the crowd is dwindling fast. Everybody is sad to be going. Now, instead of quietly going about their business on a campus full of strangers, they tearfully bid farewell to friends, many knowing they may never meet again this side of heaven. I’ve said good bye to my closest friends, in fact I’m the only one left of our little circle. But, as we reminded each other a good many times, it wasn’t truly good bye. Good byes don’t exist for God’s children, because we know that that come what may, we’ll meet again. But yes… I had friends to say good bye to… and yes, this did become so much more a home than I ever thought was possible.

Of course I’m excited to go back to the place that I will likely consider home for years still. I’m so excited to see my family and friends and church family again. But I’m also looking forward to when school will start again. God has worked so much in my life in such a short time, and I can hardly wait to see what He wants to do next. It has been a difficult few months. I’ll admit that I often wanted to give up on pretty much everything. But it takes breaking to grow, and my heavenly Father has been so good… so faithful… shown Himself to be so strong in my weakness. And so I’m faced with another question as I watch the sun on the leaves… What does He have planned for me next?

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

One response to “Another Morning Question…

  • Kalli Miller

    Awe, Darlin’, I miss you so much. I’m know how you feel. It was hard for me to leave home to go home. I’m glad that you ended your semester on a more joyful note. I hope I helped towards that a bit. You are amazing. I will see you in less than two months. Even if I’m not coming down to stay, I will probably come to drop my cousin off, and will see you then. I really trust that God will provide, though, and I will be in So Cal for the whole four months of semester… I can’t wait to see you! I Loves you!

Leave a Reply

