Something To Look Forward To…

Wow, I’ve not posted in weeks again. College kinda makes life busy. But things are settling down, I’m getting quite into the swing of things, well, that or I’m too tired to know the difference. This last week, one of my best friends drove down to visit me for the day. We had a really good visit, and it was nice to have someone around who I really knew for a while. But something about the way I looked forward to him coming caught my attention.

I’ll confess, life is often stressful around here. I have this nasty habit of giving myself unnecessary stress as well by making false deadlines in an attempt to get ahead. I also rarely get as much sleep as would be ideal, and have been fighting getting sick off and on. Since I’m so far away from everyone I really know, and am slow to open up and make friends, I feel kind of isolated a lot of the time. In short, I often end up getting discouraged with everything. But for several days, every time I started to get down, I’d remember that my friend was coming in just a few more days. That thought always brought a smile to my face and cheered me up. Having something to look forward to makes such a difference.

But I’ve been thinking… as a Christian, don’t I always have something to look forward to? Yes, I’m on earth for a little while, but what is that compared to eternity? If knowing that I would spend a few hours with a human friend could do that much to help me get through, how much more should the knowledge that I’ll be spending forever with my Savior lift my spirits!

So that’s my goal. Whenever I’m having a hard time, I try to remember that I have eternity ahead of me. What more could I want to look forward to?

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

Leave a Reply

