Margaret’s Prayer

The two Margarets were Scottish covenanters. Margaret Wilson was only eighteen years old and unmarried. She and Margaret MacLachlan were executed by drowning in the year 1685. Margaret MacLachlan was an elderly widow, killed for praying with her family. Margaret Wilson was killed for refusing to swear religious fealty to the king of Scotland. Both were tied to stakes on the beach at low tide, which Margaret MacLachlan closer to the water. This poem comes in after Margaret MacLachlan had died, and Margaret Wilson was being urged to give in. I’ve always admired both of these women, but I feel more of a connection to Margaret Wilson, who I wrote this poem about. I know it’s not great, but I thought I’d share it anyway.

“Please pray for the king,” called her family from the shore
“I will not deny Christ, I will soon be with my Lord” 

“Pray for the king now! The water’s at your shoulder
Swear the oath before you die,” demanded the old soldier 

“No, no, no,” she groaned, “no sinful oaths for me
“I am one of God’s children, death just sets me free” 

Shouting a curse, he thrust her head beneath the waves
Pulling her back up he said,“pray for the king, you will be saved” 

“Save my life and lose my soul?” she looked at him with scorn
“I knew that I might die for Christ the day I was reborn” 

“Just say God save the king and we can all go home”
Tears filled her clear gray eyes, but she was not alone 

“Lord,” she said, “save the king, from his wickedness and sin
“And help him to be a light for You to those under him” 

With another curse he let her go and let her die
And after one last choking breath she went to be with Christ

~Stephanie Joy

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

Leave a Reply

