So Many People

Over the last few weeks, I’ve gotten to go on a couple of trips, hence the sparseness of posts for a while. One trip was to southern California, and the other was South Dakota. Both were great, very enjoyable and relaxing after how hard I’d been pushing to finish out the school year. But there was something I couldn’t seem to escape. At Seaworld, at the beach, at Mount Rushmore, everywhere I went, there were people. Crowds of human beings rushing through life. Yeah, I know, of course the crowds are going to impress a little Midwestern girl from a small town, but believe it or not I have encountered masses of humanity before. But this year, it was different.

When I looked at those throngs of men, women, and children, at the “sea of faces” as Kutless might say, I saw individuals rather than just a crowd. I’d see a young couple with a baby and wonder if they would stay together long enough to raise her in a good home. A girl on a cell phone would walk by sounding worried and I would wonder what was going on her life. I’d see a group of teenage boys and wonder how many of them where just goofing off to hide what they were really feeling. I wanted to know their stories- all of them. I wanted to hear about the long chain of iron or gold that had made each of them the person they were. For the first time, it seemed so real that behind each face were the memories of a lifetime full of experiences. Each of them had felt happiness and sorrow, triumph and failure, love and rejection. I wondered how many had had the Gospel clearly explained to them by someone who truly cared, and how many knew the love of the Savior.

This world is so full of people, precious people for whom Jesus gave His life. People who live out their busy lives looking for fulfillment, yet never realizing that what they’re searching for is only a prayer away. How can I let a day pass without sharing with someone? How can I be so cold hearted to the suffering they’re all destined for? I’m so guilty of apathy in the area of evangelism. Please, pray for me as the Lord continues to open my eyes to the needs of those around me.

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

Leave a Reply

