Proof

I was a realist. I could admit that I’d been wrong. And I’d been wrong. We’d all been wrong. Granted, Jesus had been a great teacher, a prophet, a man of God, but the Messiah? No, that couldn’t be true. He’d died, hadn’t He? Of course, there were rumors. People said they’d seen Him. They said He was alive again. “Fine,” I said, “if He’s alive, prove it. I won’t be made a fool of. Until I’ve seen Him, touched Him, put my hands into the very wounds in His hands and side, nothing will make me believe that Jesus of Nazareth is alive.”

That was where I left it. I knew how to take defeat, and I was determined to move on. Then, one day I was with the ten in Jerusalem when, without the door opening, Jesus Himself appeared in our midst. Looking around at us with the same love in His eyes as ever, He said in His gentle way, “Peace to you.”

After greeting the group, He looked straight at me with that deep, penetrating gaze. It only took a moment for my eyes to be searching the room for something, anything to focus on besides His face. “Thomas,” He said quietly, “put your finger here.” He held out His arm, the sleeve falling back to reveal the scar left by the nail. I looked at it in awe, unable to speak. Without raising His voice, Jesus said sternly, “put your hand here, into My side.” He was still watching me with the same steadiness. “My Lord and my God!” I whispered brokenly.

“Thomas,” He said, “You believe only because you have seen Me. Blessed are those who have not seen, and yet believe.” *

It’s so easy to fall into the trap of wanting “proof.” The world has elevated science above almost everything else, leaving people with the impression that if they can prove something logically or scientifically, it must be true. Not only that, but they’re a better person because they required the prove, because they needed the evidence to believe. Nobody wants to be seen as a pushover, so rather than accepting anything as true, they reject it until they can prove it for themselves. Although we do need to test everything, relying on our own knowledge for anything is one of the most fatal mistakes humans can make.

Hebrews 11:1 tells us that faith is the “evidence of things not seen.” That’s our evidence. What greater proof could we need of His existence and His love for us than the very fact that we’re alive? Did you wake up this morning? Did you eat at least one good meal today? Did you sleep in a warm bed last night? Do you have family and friends who love you? That’s our proof. Everything about this beautiful planet is designed so perfectly to support human life that anyone looking at it with an open mind can come to no other conclusion than that there must have been a Creator. The proof of God’s existence is inescapable.

I have not seen Him, yet I believe. There is no doubt in my mind that Jesus Christ, the adopted Son of a carpenter from Galilee, lived a sinless life, performed all the miracles recorded in Scripture and more, was crucified on Calvary, and rose from the dead on the third day. Not only do I see the proof of this in the world around me, but I have experienced it. I’ve seen the change in my life: the move from sinful desires to the wish to truly love the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength. No, I’m not perfect, but I’m forgiven, and I believe

*adapted from John 20

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

6 responses to “Proof

  • Melody Anderson

    Steph, that is a truly amazing adaptation. You really got inside Thomas’ head and, well, you ‘reenacted’ it so well that I felt like I WAS Thomas for a moment. If that even makes sense. Just, Wow! That was a great post!

    Love ya,
    Mel

  • Daniel

    Wow, you really have a knack for understanding and portraying how the people who were really there could have felt. I never could manage that. =P Keep it up! =D

    • Stephanie

      Oh come on, I’m sure you could do it if you tried to. Thanks, though. =)

      • Daniel

        Remind me to see if I can find any of my absolutely appalling historic fiction from my high school years….. =P You’re just amazing.

      • Stephanie

        Remind me to remind you after the school year’s over, I’m not sending you looking for anything before that. But look, imvho, you’re an amazing writer, you’re also very sympathetic, which means to at least some extent you can put yourself into someone else’s shoes, and that’s really all I’m doing, and besides that, you’re a stubborn perfectionist. If you decided you really wanted to write that sort of thing, you’d learn to.

Leave a Reply

