Talitha Cumi

Everyone was wailing and weeping. Clearly some tragedy had taken place. Inside the house lay a girl. A pretty girl, twelve years old and on the brink of womanhood. But on the young face that should have been filled with hope and promise was instead a still pallor. The daughter of Jairus, the ruler of the synagogue, was dead. The crowds of mourners parted as the bereaved father approached. With him was Jesus of Nazareth, the renowned Healer. But it was too late, the mourners assured them, the girl was dead. “She is only sleeping,” the Healer replied, causing the wails to turn to scornful laughter. But the father and the Healer ignored the ridicule alike and continued into the house. Once in the sick room, the Healer sent most of the people away. Kneeling quietly beside the bed, He looked down at the girl. The dark eyes shone with love from His care-worn face. Gently taking the girl’s limp hand, He looked into the still, pale face and whispered, “talitha cumi.”

“Little girl, arise,” He whispered softly. A flush came into the girl’s face. Her eye lids fluttered open and the young eyes, now bright and lively, fell upon that worn, loving face. Her eyes met His for a moment, and then the Healer pulled away. Turning to the girl’s parents, He told them to get her something to eat. Then, He was gone. *

“Little girl, arise!”

It seems like that’s what He’s been saying to me for the last few months. “Yes, My daughter, it’s been a difficult time for you, but it’s over now. Hear My voice, dear child, it’s time to live again.” But He’s not going to pull away. He’ll keep me by Him not only for the rest of my life, but for all of eternity. Through Him, I can live, and with the gentle, loving, healing Savior by my side, holding my hand and guiding my way, I’ll not only live, but enjoy life with His peace and joy.

Here I am, like her, on the very brink of womanhood. Like her, I’ve been struggling, fighting to survive. And like her, the Healer has called me back. It’s time to live again. “Talitha cumi,” my Lord is saying, “little girl, arise!”

 

*adapted from Mark 5 and Luke 8

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

4 responses to “Talitha Cumi

Leave a Reply

