This One’s For You, Bro

Today, my younger brother turned sixteen. It’s a strange feeling to realize that your younger sibling is old enough to drive. For his birthday, he did a concert at a local coffee shop, playing and singing music he’d written. Okay, I’ll be honest, he’s not really a sensation or anything, but he’s pretty good. He’s also great in front of people. That boy really thrives on the spotlight. Anyhow, I just wanted to say: Happy Birthday, Joe! You’re such an amazing young man, and it’s such a privilege for me to watch you grow and mature. I pray for wisdom for you going into this next year. I would love nothing more than to know you can look back over your sixteenth year of life and see that you have truly grown in “wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and man.”

I’m not really a genius, and I won’t try to be eloquent. I have one piece of advice for you, Joe. Go to God. I know you know that, but I can’t emphasize it enough. Let Him show you the way to go. Proverbs 3:5-6 holds a foundational truth that’s all too easy to forget… “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” I’ll support you wherever you go, bro, just please, do things His way. I don’t want to see you get hurt. I love you so much, Joe!

Happy birthday to my wonderful brother!

About Stephanie Joy

I'm just a girl growing up in a world with very little light and trying to follow God's will for my life. I love Jesus, my family, and my friends, and I pray that somehow someone will be blessed through my scribblings. View all posts by Stephanie Joy

Leave a Reply

